Monday, March 11, 2013


Poland is a member of the European Union.
Its habitants are Poles. The official language is Polish and they speak English too.
The President is elected by popular vote for a five-year term.

This country is bordered to the north by the Baltic Sea and Kaliningrad Oblast, on the north-east by Lithuania, to the east by Belarus, Ukraine south-east to south with the Czech Republic and Slovakia and west Germany. Its capital is Warsaw. Its total area is 312 680 km2.  
The Polish currency is called ZLOTY.

Its capital and largest city is Warsaw; other important cities are Krakow and Posen.
Poland regained its independence after the First World War as the Second Polish Republic, but it was occupied by Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union at the beginning of World War II in September 1939.

Famous Poles include the astronomer Copernicus, the composer Chopin, the scientist Maria Curie-Sklodowska, the pope Juan Pablo II, etc.
Poland’s traditional dishes include beetroot soup, cabbage rolls (cabbage leaves stuffed with meat and rice) and pierogi (dumplings stuffed with cabbage and mushrooms, for example).

I would like to live there because it is a very nice country; the culture is different and I would learn the language... But I like more Spain.

1 comment:

  1. Thanks, Laura. Nice post! I thought people from Poland were Polish, not Poles. I must have been mistaken!